Key Takeaways
- These 15 programs span major art and design schools like RISD, Parsons, Pratt, and Carnegie Mellon, giving you access to studio-based instruction and industry-standard tools like Adobe Creative Cloud.
- Program length and cost vary considerably, from a one-week residential experience at Drexel for $2,300 to a five-week program at RISD costing over $12,000, so time commitment and budget are worth weighing together.
- Most programs are hands-on and project-based, having you produce portfolio-ready work through studio sessions, critiques, and faculty feedback rather than relying on lecture-only instruction.
- A few programs, including the School of Visual Arts’ online course and Pratt’s Precollege Program, offer virtual or hybrid formats, making them accessible if you can’t relocate for an in-person residential experience.
- If you’re interested in a research-focused alternative rather than a design-specific program, Horizon’s Research Seminars and Labs offers a mentored path toward a formal academic paper across fields like data science, biology, and political theory.
Graphic design programs for high school students introduce you to how visual ideas are created, refined, and communicated. Most programs focus on foundational design concepts alongside hands-on practice, rather than pure theory. You’ll usually work with industry-standard tools like Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, or similar software, while learning how designers think about layout, typography, color, and visual hierarchy. Programs can range from short workshops to multi-week summer courses, and they may be offered in person, online, or in hybrid formats. Some are hosted by universities and art schools, while others are run by museums, startups, or independent design organizations.
What Do Students Actually Do and Learn in Graphic Design Programs?
In most graphic design programs, your time is split between learning core concepts and applying them through projects. You’ll typically start with short exercises that introduce design principles such as composition, contrast, spacing, and typography. As the program progresses, you work on larger projects such as posters, branding concepts, digital graphics, and interactive designs.
To help get you started, we’ve put together a list of 15 graphic design programs for high school students.
1. Smithsonian National Museum of American History Graphic Design Internship – Smithsonian Institution
Location: Washington, D.C.
Cost/Stipend: Free; minimum $500 stipend
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: 15 students
Program Dates: Various cohorts throughout the year
Application Deadline: Varies by cohort
Eligibility: Open to all high school students
In this program, you’ll work within the National Museum of American History on design tasks that support exhibitions, publications, and digital projects. Depending on placement, you may help create visual layouts, develop graphics for interpretive materials, or contribute to digital design assets used online. Each intern is assigned a supervisor who sets expectations and provides feedback throughout the internship. Some roles focus on exhibition design, including signage and labels, while others emphasize digital or educational media. The internship follows a structured schedule and is primarily in person, with limited hybrid options depending on department needs.
2. Graphic Design Summer Residential Program – Drexel University
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Cost: $2,300
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Approximately 15–20 students
Program Dates: July 5 – 10
Application Deadline: Rolling
Eligibility: High school students age 16+ who have completed sophomore or junior year
This one-week residential program familiarizes you with graphic design through studio-based coursework guided by Drexel faculty. You’ll engage in practical projects that cover the design process, visual communication, and creative problem-solving. The program focuses on studio critiques and project development, allowing you to produce portfolio-ready work within a brief period. Instruction is supplemented with virtual studio tours, online field trips, and guest speakers who discuss career paths in graphic design. Students live in Drexel undergraduate housing with supervised residential support and receive meals through campus dining services. At the end of the program, you receive a certificate from Drexel University’s Graphic Design Department along with the work you created during the week.
3. RISD Pre-College Program in Graphic Design – Rhode Island School of Design
Location: Providence, RI
Cost: $12,495
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Not publicly disclosed
Program Dates: June 27 – August 1
Application Deadline: March 11 (payment deadline)
Eligibility: Rising high school juniors and seniors ages 16–18
This five-week residential program mirrors RISD’s undergraduate studio experience. You begin with a foundation course and choose a concentration that shapes the projects you work on throughout the session. Classes are held in RISD studios using the same facilities as degree students. The schedule features critiques, guided studio sessions, and instructor feedback. Outside class hours, participants engage in organized activities exploring various art and design fields. On-campus housing and dining are included.
4. Rising Star Program – Savannah College of Art and Design
Location: Savannah or Atlanta, GA
Cost: $6,620
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Not specified
Program Dates: June 28 – July 24
Application Deadline: May 29 (payment deadline)
Eligibility: Rising high school seniors
This residential summer program allows you to take two college-level courses taught by SCAD faculty. You work in studios, classrooms, and digital labs using the same tools and resources as undergraduate students. The schedule includes instruction, independent project work, and critiques. You will also take part in organized campus activities that showcase SCAD’s academic departments. The program ends with an evaluation of your completed coursework and projects.
5. Design Media Arts Summer Institute – University of California, Los Angeles
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Cost: $3,000
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: 20 students
Program Dates: Multiple 2-week summer sessions
Application Deadline: May 15
Eligibility: High school students age 15+ (17+ for residential sessions)
This two-week institute introduces you to design and media arts through structured studio and lab sessions. You work on projects involving 2D design, interactive media, motion graphics, and 3D environments. Faculty and program assistants offer daily guidance to help you develop your work from idea to finished project. Throughout the program, you gain access to UCLA’s design facilities and software. The experience ends with a final review where students present their projects.
6. Precollege Program in Graphic Design – Pratt Institute
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Cost: $3,500
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Not publicly disclosed
Program Dates: 2-week session; dates vary
Application Deadline: April 15
Eligibility: High school sophomores, juniors, and seniors
This two-week course focuses on foundational graphic design concepts, including layout, composition, and typography. You complete a series of design projects with guidance and feedback from Pratt faculty. Instruction takes place in studio and classroom settings using both digital and traditional tools. Each day includes demonstrations, dedicated work time, and critique sessions. The program emphasizes understanding how design principles are applied in practice.
7. Summer Institute Graphic Design – Parsons School of Design
Location: New York, NY
Cost: $5,610 + $265 university fee
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Not specified
Program Dates: June 8 – 26 | July 6 – 24
Application Deadline: May 1
Eligibility: Students ages 16–18
This three-week program introduces students to graphic design through full-day studio coursework. Classes combine demonstrations, project development, and critiques, with additional work completed outside scheduled hours. Projects focus on visual communication and digital design using Adobe Creative Cloud. Field trips to art and design sites around New York City are built into the curriculum. Faculty provide regular individual and group feedback.
8. Summer Art Intensive: Graphic Design & Drawing – The Cooper Union
Location: New York, NY
Cost: $2,700
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Not specified
Program Dates: July 13 – August 6
Application Deadline: Not specified
Eligibility: Students ages 15–18
This four-week, studio-based program focuses on graphic design and drawing through full-day classes. Participants spend their days working on core design projects and participating in required drawing sessions. The instruction is provided by Cooper Union faculty, with assistance from undergraduate teaching assistants. Weekly workshops delve into specific techniques, and field trips include visits to museums and artist studios throughout New York City. The program ends with a student work exhibition.
9. Pre-College Design Program – Carnegie Mellon University
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Cost: $10,647
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Not specified
Program Dates: June 20 – August 1
Application Deadline: February 1 (early) | March 1 (final)
Eligibility: High school sophomores and juniors; must be 16 by program start
This program introduces students to design thinking through studio-based coursework modeled on CMU’s first-year curriculum. You work through projects using sketching, prototyping, research, and visual communication methods. The program consists of lectures, critiques, and organized studio time. Additional coursework includes design drawing, photography, and research methods. Students use assigned studio spaces and participate in regular faculty critiques.
10. Early College Program Summer Institute – School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Location: Chicago, IL
Cost: $1,908 (1 week) | $3,816 (2 weeks) | $7,632 (4 weeks)
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Not specified
Program Dates: Multiple sessions from June – July
Application Deadline: Rolling
Eligibility: Students ages 15–18 who have completed their sophomore year
This program offers intensive studio classes across a range of disciplines, including design and visual arts. Each session includes a full day of studio work with structured guidance from SAIC instructors. Evening workshops focus on particular techniques and materials. Students can utilize campus facilities that support various media. Each session ends with an exhibition of completed work.
11. Pre-College Studio Art Intensive – Tufts University
Location: Medford/Somerville, MA
Cost: $5,445 (commuter) | $7,245 (residential)
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Not specified
Program Dates: July 5 – 24
Application Deadline: May 1
Eligibility: Students entering grades 10–12
This program places students in a structured studio environment covering drawing, painting, sculpture, and animation. Daily classes focus on foundational approaches to 2D, 3D, and digital media with regular faculty-led critiques. Students visit the SMFA art library and attend guided museum trips in Boston. Sessions are designed to provide consistent access to studio space and instructional support. The program also includes an overview of portfolio expectations from admissions staff.
12. Design Camp – North Carolina State University
Location: Raleigh, NC
Cost: $900
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: 80 students
Program Dates: July 27 – 31
Application Deadline: April 10 (late registration includes a $50 fee)
Eligibility: Rising 9th–12th grade students
This one-week camp introduces students to the design process through short, hands-on studio projects. You rotate through architecture, graphic and experience design, industrial design, and media arts studios. The program focuses on observation, critique, and creative problem-solving. Faculty presentations detail how design is taught to undergraduates. The daily routine mirrors college studio culture, combining creating, receiving feedback, and peer learning.
13. NextGen Bootcamp Graphic Design Summer Camp – NextGen Coding & Design School
Location: New York, NY or Virtual
Cost: $2,495 (in-person) | $1,299 (virtual)
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Not specified
Program Dates: 2 weeks in the summer
Application Deadline: Rolling
Eligibility: High school students
This two-week program introduces you to the fundamentals of graphic design through structured lessons and hands-on projects. You learn core design principles such as typography, layout, and visual hierarchy while working with industry-standard tools. The curriculum is project-driven, allowing you to apply concepts immediately through guided design assignments. Instruction is led by experienced designers who provide feedback throughout the program. The virtual and in-person options make this accessible for a short, skills-focused introduction to graphic design.
14. Product Design – Stanford Pre-Collegiate Summer Institutes
Location: Virtual
Cost: $3,050
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Not specified
Program Dates: 11 days in June/July
Application Deadline: March
Eligibility: Students in grades 8–11
This course focuses on the design process at the intersection of creativity, engineering, and problem-solving. You explore topics such as ideation, sketching, prototyping, and basic 3D modeling through structured coursework. The program focuses on design thinking and teamwork when tackling real-world design challenges. Experienced instructors lead you through every phase of product development. Although not solely focused on graphic design, the course is useful if you’re interested in visual design as part of larger design systems.
15. Pre-College Program – School of Visual Arts
Location: Virtual
Cost: $2,800
Acceptance Rate/Cohort Size: Not specified
Program Dates: July 7 – 25
Application Deadline: Rolling
Eligibility: High school students ages 14–18
This online pre-college program allows you to study graphic design and other visual arts through college-level coursework. You’ll complete hands-on projects, such as digital illustrations, animations, and graphic design pieces, using industry-standard tools. Each course is taught by working artists and designers who guide you through the full creative process from concept to final work. The program emphasizes practical skill-building through structured assignments rather than lectures alone. By the end of the session, you earn college credit and leave with portfolio-ready work that can support future applications to art and design programs.
One more option – Horizon Academic Research Program
If you’re looking for a competitive mentored research program in subjects like data science, machine learning, political theory, biology, and chemistry, consider applying to Horizon’s Research Seminars and Labs! This is a selective virtual research program that lets you engage in advanced research and develop a research paper on a subject of your choosing. Horizon has worked with 1000+ high school students so far and offers 600+ research specializations for you to choose from. You can find the application link here!
Frequently Asked Questions
What kinds of graphic design programs are available to high school students?
You’ll find a mix of formats, including university studio programs like RISD’s Pre-College Program and Parsons’ Summer Institute, shorter skills-focused workshops like NextGen Bootcamp and NC State’s Design Camp, and museum-based internships like the Smithsonian’s Graphic Design Internship. Some programs, like Stanford’s Product Design course, take a broader design-thinking approach rather than focusing purely on graphic design specifically.
Do you need prior design experience to apply?
Most of these programs don’t require prior design experience, since they’re built around teaching foundational concepts like typography, layout, and visual hierarchy from the start. Programs like Pratt’s Precollege Program and NextGen Bootcamp are specifically designed as introductions to the field, though more selective or advanced programs like RISD’s Pre-College Program may favor applicants who can show some existing creative work in their application.
Are there free or low-cost options available?
The Smithsonian’s Graphic Design Internship is the standout free option on this list, and it also provides a minimum $500 stipend. Most other programs charge tuition ranging from around $900 for a one-week camp to over $12,000 for a five-week residential program, though costs generally scale with program length and school prestige.
Which programs offer college credit?
The School of Visual Arts’ Pre-College Program is notable for offering college credit alongside portfolio-ready work, which can be useful if you want your summer coursework to count toward future college requirements. Most other programs on this list focus on skill-building and portfolio development rather than transferable academic credit, so it’s worth confirming credit status directly with each program if that’s a priority for you.
Are there virtual or online options if you can’t travel for an in-person program?
Yes. The School of Visual Arts’ Pre-College Program and Stanford’s Product Design course are both entirely virtual, and NextGen Bootcamp offers a lower-cost virtual option alongside its in-person version. These can be good choices if cost or travel logistics make a residential program difficult.
Is there a way to pursue a research-focused program instead of a design-specific one?
Yes. If you’re interested in a research-focused alternative rather than a design-specific program, Horizon’s Research Seminars and Labs pairs you with a professor or PhD scholar to develop a 20-page research paper you can submit for academic publication, across fields like data science, biology, and political theory. The program also provides a letter of recommendation and detailed feedback, and covers over 600 research specializations. You can find the application here.
When should you apply?
Deadlines for these programs are spread throughout the year, so it helps to plan ahead. Carnegie Mellon’s Pre-College Design Program has one of the earliest deadlines at February 1 (early) or March 1 (final), followed by RISD’s payment deadline of March 11 and UCLA’s Design Media Arts Summer Institute (May 15). Several programs, including Drexel’s Graphic Design Residential Program and NextGen Bootcamp, operate on a rolling basis instead of a fixed deadline, so it’s worth applying as early as possible for those options.
Image source: Carnegie Mellon University




